INTERNET SCAMS
Virtually ALL emails selling pharmaceuticals
or unsolicited offers of mortgages are SCAMS! Your best defense is
not to click on any link in a spam email to a pharmaceutical or mortgage
site.
Also see Page
2 for previously released scam information.
Blazefind.com Invasive AdWare.
Doublebot.com Pyramid (Ponzi) Scheme
23 June 2004"Phishing"
a growing threat to your online safety
26 May 2004 Fresh Start
Christian Financial
9 Feb. 2004 "National
Do Not Email Registry"
24 May 2003 SPEWS Information
4 May 2003 "Insta Kiss"
Scam
24 Mar. 2003 Yahoo Chat
Spam Bot Exposed
13 Mar 2003 Worldwide
Online System delightful2dream.com
5 Feb. 2003 Lottery Winners
International Scam
16 Jan. 2003 International
Driver Licenses Scam
15 Jan. 2003 Automatic
Internet Scam
23 June 2004 "Phishing,
a growing threat to your online safety
According to Anti-Phishing
Working Group, phishing is:
"Phishing attacks use 'spoofed' e-mails
and fraudulent websites designed to fool recipients into divulging personal
financial data such as credit card numbers, account usernames and passwords,
social security numbers, etc. By hijacking the trusted brands of well-known
banks, online retailers and credit card companies, phishers are able to
convince up to 5% of recipients to respond to them."
If you have received an email from what
appears to be CitiBank, or other well-known banking institutions, asking
for your credit card or other sensitive information, you are being "phished"
for information that will be used to purchase products in your name, without
your knowledge or consent. The "phishers" benefit by reselling items you've
paid for.
Other "phishing" ploys come as mortgage
refinancing or online drug sales. You are advised not to respond
to any unsolicited request, simply delete the email.
26 May 2004 Fresh Start
Christian Financial
Nothing is known regarding this group,
however it has appeared on various message boards, spamming their web site
http://www.christiandebtconsolidations.com
Be advised to be wary of any new "debt
consolidation" company, in particular ones that spam message boards. Updates
on this company as we receive them.
9 Feb. 2004 "National
Do Not Email Registry"
Unsub.us
Yet another site has cropped up, purporting
to be a "do not spam" registry. Persons are advised, Unsub.us is not an
official Government site of any kind, and not to submit their email address
to be included in their database.
24 May 2003 SPEWS
SPEWS is not in itself a scam but a
shadowy organization that publishes a "blocklist" of email servers.
SPEWS tactics call for blocking of all domains on a web hosting service,
not only the offending spammers, but in some cases thousands of innocent
domains. Their rationale is if the customers of a web host discontinue
their hosting, the web hosting service will remove the offending spammer,
or lose valuable business.
These RICO like tactics employed by
SPEWS harms thousands of businesses that have no connection to spammers,
other than the fact that they share the same web hosting service.
We discourage the use of "blacklists"
such as SPEWS, and encourage persons receiving unsolicited emails to forward
them to the Federal Trade Commission, at uce@ftc.gov
Also See: SPEWS
No Longer Anonymous
4 May 2003 "Insta Kiss" Scam
This scam is designed to collect password
information from your system. You are asked to download a program
that steals your information.
Hey, someone really likes you and sent
you a Insta Kiss!! Click here to login and see who it is!!
%RANDOM_TEXT
"Insta kiss" is
a trademark of Microsoft Corporation.
All rights reserved
Registrant:
Registration Private
Domains by Proxy, Inc.
15111 N Hayden Rd., Suite
160
PMB353
Scottsdale, Arizona 85260
United States
Registered through: Go
Daddy Software (http://www.godaddy.com)
Domain Name: GLOBALDAILYPAY.COM
Created
on: 10-Dec-02
Expires
on: 10-Dec-04
Last
Updated on: 18-Feb-03
Administrative Contact:
Private,
Registration GLOBALDAILYPAY.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
15111
N Hayden Rd., Suite 160
PMB353
Scottsdale,
Arizona 85260
United
States
(480)
624-2599
Technical Contact:
Private,
Registration GLOBALDAILYPAY.COM@domainsbyproxy.com
15111
N Hayden Rd., Suite 160
PMB353
Scottsdale,
Arizona 85260
United
States
(480)
624-2599
Domain servers in listed
order:
NS2.WORKDIGITAL.COM
NS1.WORKDIGITAL.COM
24 Mar. 2003 Yahoo! Chat
Spam Bot Exposed
Recently, an Internet porn site has
been operating a spam bot in the various Yahoo! Chat rooms. The following
are some of the identities used by this bot:
hot_bj_queen
girl_riding_her_toy
teenie_babe18
totally_all_tits
The site, freehighres.com is registered
to:
Registrant:
Webbie
199 Cannon Street East
Hamilton, Ontario L8L2A7
CA
905 522 5156
Domain Name: FREEHIGHRES.COM
Administrative Contact:
E-com biz Inc., E-com biz Inc.
webmaster@ecombiz.info
199 Cannon Street East
Hamilton, Ontario L8L2A7
CA
905 522 5156
ecombiz.info is registered to:
Domain Name:ECOMBIZ.INFO
Created On:26-Oct-2001 17:29:37 UTC
Last Updated On:12-Apr-2003 09:28:39
UTC
Expiration Date:26-Oct-2003 17:29:37
UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:R152-LRMS
Status:ACTIVE
Status:OK
Registrant ID:C1374991-LRMS
Registrant Name:E-com biz Inc. E-com
biz Inc.
Registrant Organization:Webbie
Registrant Street1:199 Cannon Street
East
Registrant City:Hamilton
Registrant State/Province:Ontario
Registrant Postal Code:L8L2A7
Registrant Country:CA
Registrant Phone:+1.111111111
Registrant Email:webmaster@catindahat.com
13 Mar. 2003 Worldwide
Online System or delightful2dream.com
In order to gain any useful information
on their site, you must provide them with your name and email address.
NOT!!!! This is an excellent way to send your email to a spam list.
Should you gain access to their site, it will cost you $39.95 to order
their video. NOWHERE ON THEIR SITE IS ANYTHING EXPLAINED AS TO THE TRUE
NATURE OF THE PROGRAM!!! Folks, this is an outright scam, you should NEVER
have to pay for information prior to deciding whether you wish to participate
in any home based business venture.
5 Feb. 2003 Lottery
Winners International Scam
Have you received an email with the
following:
"Ref. Nnumbe: 132/756/4007
Batch Number: 538901527-BB67
Sir/Madam
We are pleased to inform you of the
result of the Lottery Winners International programs held on the
1st January, 2003. Your e-mail address attached to ticket number
27511465896-6410 with serial number
3772-510 drew lucky numbers 7-14-88-23-31-45
which consequently won in the 1st category, you have therefore been
approved for a lump sum pay out of US$ 1,000,000.00 (One Million
United States Dollars)..."
Another variation of this scam is an
email sent from
AMSTEL LOTTO PROMOTION
AMSTERDAM, NETHERLANDS
This is an outright SCAM. For more complete
information please see Snopes.com Urban
Legends.
16 Jan. 2003 International
Drivers Licenses Scammers Under Investigation
Internet News is reporting that the
Federal Trade Commission is investigating several operators of this scam.
For more information, please see the Internet News article, click
Here.
AUTOMATIC INTERNET SCAM
Here is a copy of their advertisment
being sent out by spam email.
The only way to receive more information
from this scam is to first pay by credit card. NO WAY!!! Never pay prior
to doing research into any company. Also, clicking the REMOVE link will
not take you to a remove page, but to their main page. There is no way
to remove yourself from their database. Emails to the registered domain
owner bounce back as undeliverable. STEER CLEAR OF THIS SCAM!
Main
Topic Index
Is this Topic of interest to you? We
are seeking a Page Editor and Advertising Sales Representatives,
Click
Here for details.